Today is definitely Monday. I'm so frustrated with this process that is SUPPOSED to be getting Tyler the help he needs. I went along with it, so shame on me. I don't understand why this has to take so long and in the meantime, Tyler is bringing home handfuls of failing papers.
I left a message last Thursday for the asst. principal to call me about where we were in the process. This morning she called back. "Well, uh...ahem....uh, I'll need to call the diagnostician back and see where we are since Tyler has started wearing his glasses." I reminded her that the school district has 60 days to complete this process to which she replies, "The glasses incident put a halt to the process and we'll need to get it started again." UGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I relayed my frustration to her about this PROCESS. I reminded her that we could've already had Tyler tested privately to which she responded, "Yes, but we would've had to confirm those results which would put us in exactly the same position."
Tyler had another round with benchmark TAKS and is doing district testing this week. I can tell you he was NOT thrilled to go to school this morning. He brought home 5 papers last week with failing grades that we are correcting for a passing grade. One of those grades was a 17. In no way does this indicate to me that he is getting anything out of class. He needs to be helped a lot, either through content mastery or resource.
I just feel like I'm beating my head against the wall and nothing is getting done. I can see him slipping away. My thought is maybe public school will never be the place that Tyler needs it to be. So, where does that leave us? Private school or home school. Both of these ideas scare the crap out of me. The price of private school makes me physically numb and I don't know if I'm capable of schooling Tyler.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment